top of page
  • fuzh3835

Artist Statement #3 - Animation

For this project, I wanted to do something "other-world"-y and fantastical, but I think I set myself up with too much to worry about and ended up not having the time or vision to create an animation that matched what I initially thought I wanted to do with this project. My inspiration for this project included the dream-like, trippy animations that were used as an example.


I liked the freedom of animating one scene to the next and the next in a fluid and smooth manner. I also had the chance to go to the Meow Wolf exhibit the weekend the project was assigned, and that exhibit also had the same feeling that these example animations had, so I was really inspired to do my project around the themes that both these inspirations had.



However, after storyboarding, I lost a lot of the motivation to animate like the examples I used because it was very daunting and complicated, so I ended up with a product that just isn't as good or well-thought out.


My beginning animation I think turned out OK, but after that I didn't know what to do because I decided I didn't want to follow what I originally storyboarded. I think with a lot of time outside of my other classes, and more practice with animation, I could have come up with a better project. I also think animation is a very complicated skill to learn compared to simple illustrations, so it would have been better for me to plan out every single detail from the beginning to rely on as I worked on my project. Maybe being a little more decisive with I needed to do would have been a smart idea!


On the more positive side, I really enjoyed seeing some of my classmates' projects and the creativity in everyone's animations. I also think this was a good lesson for me in what it takes to animate and how I can go about it next time because I'm really motivated to animate more and get better at it. This is a good second chance for me to really understand animating and the best idea would be choosing a plan and sticking with it, so I'm going to plan on practicing animation by first practicing how to animate a head turn!



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page